The Student Assembly (SA), which is the legislative branch of UGBC, consists of 50 elected senators representing each class, school, and student organization cohort (category), as well as club sports, the Residence Hall Association (RHA), the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), AHANA Leadership Council (ALC), and GLBTQ Leadership Council (GLC).  The SA focuses primarily on student advocacy and policy work.  It is the job of the SA to voice student concerns to the administration and to work toward changing or implementing new policies that benefit the student body.

To coordinate the SA’s work, there are seven standing committees.  Both senators and ex-officio members (non-elected students) serve on these committees.  These committees are divided by topic area, and are all open to the public.

The policy committees are:

The internal committees are:

Mission Statement

Through both reflection and forward thinking, as well as active representation and effective communication, the Student Assembly will develop policies, programs, and initiatives designed to build a greater Boston College. 

Message from the Executive Vice President

Hello there! My name is Olivia Hussey and I am the Executive Vice President of UGBC for the coming school year. I hail from Kennebunk, Maine, and am a junior in A&S, majoring in History with a minor in Gender & Ethics. This is my third year in UGBC, and I am so excited to be presiding over the Student Assembly (SA). The Directors of Policy and myself are always willing to discuss any initiative we have going on in the SA, or any new idea you may have, so always feel free to reach out!

The SA itself is committed to helping improve the overall student experience at Boston College.  Fundamentally, the SA exists to make students happier and to ensure they leave BC with an incredible four years under their belts.  With an elected body that spans every class, school, club cohort, and with representatives from club sports, RHA, SAAC, ALC, and GLC, we are a diverse body with an expansive agenda designed to maximize student happiness and create meaningful change at BC.

We will be tackling everything from mental health resources to student rights to increased female mentorship to printers on lower to expanding Eagle Card access off-campus to PEPs.  Consequently, there are plenty of opportunities to get involved without being a senator, and all meetings are open to the public.  It is our job to ensure we are pursuing the policies students want and care about.  Therefore, we will be visible in the dining halls, in the quads, and on social media throughout the year. We have also launched an online platform to facilitate student feedback: Campus Voice.  Likewise, everyone in the SA has a publicly-available email. Please reach out to us -- we want to hear from you!

SA Leadership

The Executive Vice President (EVP) of UGBC chairs the Student Assembly.  It is her job to set the agenda, determine policy priorities, and represent the SA to both the executive branch of UGBC and the administration.  The current EVP is Olivia Hussey, A&S '17,

The Parliamentarian for the SA is Taylor Fawcett, A&S '18,  The Parliamentarian is the chief enforcer of the Constitution and the Standing Rules.  Additionally, she is responsible for the legislative docket.

The President Pro Tempore (PPT) is the third highest officer in UGBC.  It is their job to chair the SA meetings in the EVP’s absence, as well as be both a mentor and resource for the other senators.  The PPT must have at least one year experience in the SA before serving. The PPT will be determined at the SA's first meeting in September.

Each standing committee has its own director.  The EVP nominates and the SA confirms the directors.  It is the responsibility of the directors to manage their committees, lead their senators, and run their meetings. (Please refer to committee rosters for chair names and emails.)

Likewise, each standing committee also has a vice director.  The vice directors run their committee meetings in the absence of the director and act as additional resources for senators. 

Finally, the SA has two internal roles: a Director of Rules and a Director of Finance. The Director of Rules is Isaac Akers, A&S '16,; he is the point person for all internal matters to do with the SA Standing Rules and the UGBC Constitution. The Director of Finance is Cathy Deng,; she is responsible for all matters of finance in the SA.

Have an idea, suggestion, or question? Feel free to reach out to myself, a director, or your elected representative to talk at any time!

Be Social With Us